Code360 powered by Coding Ninjas X Code360 powered by Coding Ninjas X
Table of contents
Agile Testing
The Agile Testing Quadrants
Quadrant 1: Technology-Facing Tests
Quadrant 2: Business-Facing Tests
Quadrant 3: Business-Facing Tests with Technology Support
Quadrant 4: Critique Tests
Points to Remember while Implementing Agile Testing Quadrants
Benefits of Using Agile Testing Quadrants
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the common goal of all quadrants in agile testing?
What are the 4 quadrants of testing in agile?
What is Agile Software Testing?
Last Updated: Mar 27, 2024

Agile Testing Quadrants

Master Python: Predicting weather forecasts
Ashwin Goyal
Product Manager @


Are you looking for a structured testing method in Agile development? Agile Testing Quadrants could offer the solution you're looking for. 

Agile Testing -Quadrants are used in Agile development to organize testing activities by visually representing different tests based on their focus and purpose.

Agile Testing - Quadrants

In this article, we will look at the Agile Testing Quadrant concept briefly.

So let us dive into the topic to explore more about this.

Agile Testing

Agile testing is a method of introducing testing activities into the Agile development process. To assure software quality, it promotes recurring and incremental testing. 

The Agile Testing Quadrants give a framework for categorizing testing activities based on their focus into four quadrants: 

  • Technology-facing tests
  • Business-facing tests
  • Business-facing tests with technology support
  • Critique tests. 
Agile testing

This classification helps teams properly plan and execute testing, covering component behavior, user requirements, performance, and risk assessment characteristics.

Alright!! Let us understand agile testing quadrants briefly.

Get the tech career you deserve, faster!
Connect with our expert counsellors to understand how to hack your way to success
User rating 4.7/5
1:1 doubt support
95% placement record
Akash Pal
Senior Software Engineer
326% Hike After Job Bootcamp
Himanshu Gusain
Programmer Analyst
32 LPA After Job Bootcamp
After Job

The Agile Testing Quadrants

The Agile Testing Quadrants are a visual representation of numerous types of testing activities in an Agile environment. These quadrants are guidelines for testers and teams to better organize and execute testing operations.

The Agile Testing Quadrants

Now let us explore each quadrant one by one briefly.

Quadrant 1: Technology-Facing Tests

Quadrant 1 represents technology-focused tests that help ensure the software's technical quality. Common examples are Unit, component integration, and other low-level tests. These tests' primary purpose is to check the behavior of specific software components and identify defects early in the development process.

Quadrant 2: Business-Facing Tests

Quadrant 2 involves tests that validate software from a business or user perspective. These tests are designed to ensure that the program meets functional and non-functional requirements. User acceptance, exploratory, and usability tests are examples of tests in this quadrant. The goal is to ensure the software meets the end user's needs while aligning with the corporate goals.

Quadrant 3: Business-Facing Tests with Technology Support

Quadrant 3 combines the business-facing tests from Quadrant 2 with additional technical support. These tests include performance testing, security testing, and compatibility testing. The purpose is to verify that the program can manage predicted loads, preserve data security, and perform across multiple platforms or settings.

Quadrant 4: Critique Tests

Quadrant 4 represents tests that critique (examine) the product's risks and limitations. Risk-based testing, regulatory compliance testing, and user experience (UX) evaluation are all part of these tests. The goal is to discover potential faults or defects that may have gone undetected in the other quadrants and provide comments for improvement.

The numbering of the quadrants in Agile testing is arbitrary and does not represent a sequential or hierarchical sequence. They simply give a structure for categorizing testing activities.

Now let us look at the points to remember while doing agile testing quadrants.

Points to Remember while Implementing Agile Testing Quadrants

To effectively implement Agile Testing Quadrants, teams should consider the following steps:

  • Recognize the software context as well as the project needs.
  • Determine the appropriate testing activities for each quadrant depending on the demands of the project.
  • Collaborate with stakeholders to determine testing objectives and priorities.
  • Create a balanced testing plan that addresses all four quadrants while considering available resources and time restrictions.
  • Throughout the Agile development process, continuously analyze and change the testing approach.

Alright!! Let us look at the benefits of agile testing quadrants.

Benefits of Using Agile Testing Quadrants

The Agile Testing Quadrants offer several benefits to Agile teams:

  • Complete protection: Teams can ensure thorough test coverage across multiple dimensions, including technology, business requirements, and critical analysis, by categorizing testing operations into separate quadrants.
  • Clear test planning: The quadrants give a clear structure for organizing testing efforts, allowing teams to prioritize and organize testing operations properly.
  • Collaboration and shared understanding: The quadrants provide a common language for discussing and planning testing procedures. It allows greater communication and shared understanding among testers, developers, and stakeholders.
  • Early defect detection: By focusing on early testing, teams can find and address flaws early. It decreases rework and improves overall software quality.

Frequently Asked Questions

What is the common goal of all quadrants in agile testing?

The common goal of all quadrants in agile testing is to ensure software quality and meet the needs of end-users and stakeholders through comprehensive and effective testing practices defined in each quadrant of agile testing.

What are the 4 quadrants of testing in agile?

The four agile testing quadrants are Quadrant 1, Team-supporting technological tests. Quadrant 2, Team-supporting business-facing testing. Quadrant 3, Product-critique tests for businesses. Quadrant 4, Technology-oriented tests that criticize the product. Which helps in ensuring software quality and fulfilling client expectations.

What is Agile Software Testing?

Agile is a popular project management framework in software development. Agile software testing is an approach that helps developers test their code continuously and quickly. Customers can also provide fast feedback to testers using this process.


In conclusion, Agile Testing Quadrants provide a systematic approach to testing in Agile development. The quadrants include all aspects of testing, promoting successful planning, and encouraging teamwork. The dynamic world of Agile development helps teams achieve early defect identification, increased software quality, and successful product delivery by using this framework.

This article has helped you learn more about Agile Testing - Quadrants.

If you want to learn more, refer to these articles:

Also Read, human computer interaction

You may refer to our Guided Path on Code Studios for enhancing your skill set on DSACompetitive ProgrammingSystem Design, etc. Check out essential interview questions, practice our available mock tests, look at the interview bundle for interview preparations, and so much more!

Happy Learning!

Previous article
Agile Testing - Quadrants
Next article
Difference between Agile and Scrum
Live masterclass